Spring Forward

Source: Lydia Cutrer

So I’m super excited that the weather on the East Coast is finally starting to break.  Even though it’s supposed to dip a little on Saturday, the 10-day forecast looks really nice!  Apparently this is the fourth warmest winter on record; I’m sure there are environmental implications but as a Southern belle, I’m not mad at the low snowfall.

Before Spring officially begins on March 20, we first enter Daylight Savings Time early this Sunday morning when we have to move our clocks ahead an hour, or spring forward.  I think this time change will help me to (1) recognize those moments when I actually lose time by not being productive and (2) get ready for the start of Spring.

Most people treat Spring like the New Year: we do major cleaning, begin home renovations, start exercising to get beach-ready for Summer, etc.  Spring serves as a new beginning and provides an opportunity “to come into being”.

I’m going to use these few days before the start of Spring to take the next leap in my goals.  I’ve been given some ideas to pursue and received inspiration for my writing.  I’m also clearing my mind and heart of things that are not life-giving like doubt, jealousy, and resentment.  Although the challenges will still arise, I’ll keep in mind what the old folks say: “I may not be where I want to be, but thank God I’m not where I used to be!”

“Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old.  Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; Shall you not know it? I will even make a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.” – Isaiah 43:18-19

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

